Pop the champagne! I was able to “Get a Job”!

champagne

History is chock full of barbarous forms of torture such as the “Brazen Bull” of Ancient Greece, the “Iron Maiden” of the Ming Dynasty, and playing Christina Aguilera’s “Dirrty” during terrorist interrogations. Somewhere on this list, history should hold a place for the torture technique known as “The Job Hunt”. However, today is not the day where I’ll relive the horrors of tediously filling out online job applications and coming up with my three greatest weaknesses for job interviews. I will save that for another day.

For now, let’s celebrate. Dear Dividend has finally found a new J-O-B. Not only did I find a new job, I took a pay cut along with it. Why would I do such a thing you may ask. Because during an interview my future employer uttered verbal gold…”work-life balance”. Once I start my new job in a few weeks I’ll have more time with my family and actually be able to see them every day. Currently, I spend months away from my family but that is also a story for another day.

Taking a cut in pay will hinder my investing progress but some things in life don’t have a price. Spending time with those you love can never be replaced or bought. Listening to my kids tell me a joke that makes me bust out in laughter is worth more to me than any stock portfolio I could ever build. I also realize that someday my kids will be adults with their own lives and I’ll have a lesser role in their life than I do now. So I need to cherish every moment before it’s gone.

Without further ado, take a few minutes to step back in time and jam to an oldie but a goodie…”Get a Job” by the Silhouettes.

23 thoughts on “Pop the champagne! I was able to “Get a Job”!

  1. Congrats on the new job and the better work-life balance! I think the required work of some jobs aren’t worth the extra hours you need to put in, which is why I am happy continuing to work at my current employer.

    Like

  2. I just finished watching that video, great song but check out the guy at the 1:00 mark. It looks like he really needs to work on his clapping skills. Ohh ya, grats on the new job btw!!! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! The clapping guy has about as much rhythm as I do so perhaps I’m related to him. I think the video provides an interesting peek into American culture during the 1950s. Music and pop culture have changed quite a bit since then.

      Regards,
      Dear Dividend

      Like

  3. Congratulations on the new job! I’m glad that you were given the opportunity to find a position that allows you to spend more time with your family… that’s really awesome! I recently made a new job transition (finally busted into the career field that I went to college for) and I feel on top of the world. Like you, I took a pay cut from my previous position but its soo worth it. Doing what your heart wants to do/explore is priceless. To live with regrets is suffocating, congrats again! Cheers!

    Like

    • Naomi,

      Thanks! Congratulations on your recent job transition as well. I’m at a point that if I can work at a satisfying job and still earn enough to provide for my family, save, and invest then I’ll be happy. I hope your new career continues to provide fulfillment.

      Regards,
      Dear Dividend

      Like

  4. Congratulations Dear Dividend!
    What kind of job is it? Like, what sector? Just curious 🙂

    Good luck and I totally agree on your comments about your family.
    Money can’t buy everything. Thanks for pointing that out.

    Best wishes. DfS

    Like

    • HHWG,

      Thanks! Your kids are lucky that you chose to spend time at home with them rather than at a job. I know it isn’t always an option for everyone, but I think it is great when one of the parents can be home with the kids when they are young. Thanks for stopping by.

      Regards,
      Dear Dividend

      Like

  5. Dear Dividend,

    I’m glad to hear you got a new job with a better situation at home. I do the job hunt quite a bit as an Editor and it always feels great to land somewhere, even if it’s not as good a rate. Good luck with it and enjoy the extra free time. Cheers!

    Like

    • Ryan,

      Thanks! You must have more patience than me if you frequently job hunt. I didn’t enjoy any of it except for receiving the offer. You’re right though, it feels great once you receive a job offer.

      Regards,
      Dear Dividend

      Like

  6. DD,

    Congrats on the new job. I think you made an excellent decision!

    I quit my full-time job in the auto industry making over $50k to focus on writing and spend more time doing things I value and enjoy. I’m making much less money, but I couldn’t be happier. I think you’ll find the same true for yourself.

    Enjoy the better work/life balance. 🙂

    Best wishes.

    Like

    • DM,

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to more personal/family time. I’m at the point in my current job where I could stay longer and build up more income and savings but the motivation of financial gain is no longer strong enough to keep me from home.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Regards,
      Dear Dividend

      Like

  7. Pingback: Liebster Award | Dear Dividend...
  8. Pingback: I’m on My Way…Home Sweet Home! | Dear Dividend...
  9. Pingback: 6 Steps to Finding a Job | Dear Dividend...

Leave a Reply

