Kittens + Babies = Dividends

cat

Kittens and babies might be considered some of the most adorable creatures on the planet.  Whether or not you agree with this statement, they have led me to what be one of my new favorite stocks.  It may seem strange but some of the stocks in my portfolio hold a small amount of emotional value in addition to their monetary value.  The particular stock I’m speaking of here is Nestle (NSRGY) which has been producing dividends since 1959.  When I hear our family’s cat crunching on Purina cat food or see a baby trying to gulp down some Gerber baby food, I feel comfort in knowing that I own a small piece of Nestle.  The other day, I arrived home from work and noticed that my wife had picked up some frozen pizzas.  Some were a brand called Jack’s and one was California Pizza Kitchen.  I looked at the back of the packages (a habit I’ve started since diving into investing) to see which company made the frozen pizzas.  It was a pleasant surprise to see they both were produced by Nestle.  I think my favorite stocks are consumer goods that are widespread and that my household personally uses.  For me, Nestle’s pervasiveness is similar to what I see in PG and JNJ.  So why I am rambling about Nestle this month?  I just received my first annual dividend from NSRGY in June.  Although they only pay an annual dividend, I have a feeling I’ll be adding more NSRGY to my portfolio over the years.

 

Now for my June 2015 dividends.

LOYAL3
Symbol Dividend
INTC $0.09
WMT $0.32
UL $0.51
MSFT $0.47
MCD $3.39
K $0.95

Loyal3 Total: $5.73

 

ROTH IRA
Symbol Dividend
NSRGY $11.38
COP $7.38
XOM $21.98
CVX $10.86
JNJ $6.75
K $4.01
MCD $6.11
MORL $0.96
RDS.B $5.72

Roth IRA Total: $75.15

JUNE 2015 COMBINED TOTAL: $80.88

I’m happy to say that this is another personal record.  Unfortunately, it may be a while before I crack the $80+ mark.  The annual NSRGY dividend in June helped push me to a new record.  I’m still chasing the $100 mark as my next goal which may have to wait until 2016.

Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your investing.

Regards,

DD

7 thoughts on “Kittens + Babies = Dividends

  1. DD,

    Nestle is another one of those companies buy and hold forever companies. I wish they paid at least semi-annual dividends because the once a year stuff sucks. But in the end what matters is whether the dividend gets paid and whether it’s increased each year. They have so many brands underneath their umbrella that’s it’s truly amazing. Great job setting a personal best for dividends in a month!

    Like

    • I agree that the once a year payout isn’t ideal. I really like seeing more frequent dividends but I’m willing to accept the annual payouts with Nestle.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Dear Dividend

      Like

  2. Made me smile cause I do the exact same thing for a while now (looking at the wrapping to know which company makes it). I hold JNJ for its nice fundamentals but also for the reasons you stated about Nestle. This type of companies are everywhere!

    Like

    • It happened to me again today. My wife brought home Dreyer’s ice cream. I looked at the back and yet again another Nestle product. I like it when we unknowingly support one of the companies we own stock in.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Dear Dividend

      Like

  3. Pingback: March 2016 Dividends – A New Record | Dear Dividend...

Leave a Reply

